Skip to content

Off to Denver and the 2011 Cattle Industry Convention!

February 1, 2011

As I’m writing this, I am sitting in the Roanoke Regional Airport, waiting for a flight to Charlotte. From Charlotte, I’ll head west, towards the Rocky Mountains, to the “Mile-High City”  for the 2011 Cattle Industry Convention. This will be my third annual convention, and one thing I already know is that it’s going to be a lot colder than my previous conventions in Phoenix and San Antonio. I think I saw that today’s high in Denver is 4 degrees….

However, another thing I know is that this is going to be another great experience. For the second year in a row, I am participating in the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association’s student convention worker program, where I will be assisting NCBA staff with the facilitating of many convention events. After participating in this program last year, I knew I wanted to do it again. Not only was it a great way to gain a better perspective into how NCBA runs the annual convention, the experience also provided me with a great opportunity to network with folks from all over the country who are just as passionate about agriculture and the beef industry as I am.

This year, hopefully I’ll get to build upon relationships I’ve already developed, network with new industry contacts, and do some much-needed catching up with old friends. Also, I’m really looking forward to leading a social media workshop with the 2011 National Beef Ambassadors, and you should be sure to check out their blog and Twitter. I’ll be posting blog updates and Tweeting from the convention, so stay tuned. Also, follow the action on Twitter with the hashtag #NCBA11.

No comments yet

Leave a comment