Skip to content

Ohayo, Kyoto!

May 29, 2011

For folks who don’t know, I’m going to be living and studying in Japan for the next seven weeks. I’m part of the University of New Orleans-Japan 2011 Program and will be in Kyoto at Doshisha University. I have to be downstairs for an orientation soon, so this post is going to be short and sweet. 

I got to Kyoto yesterday at around 7:30 PM (Japan is 13 hours ahead of the East Coast, so it was around 6:30 AM Sunday morning back home) after landing in Osaka a few hours earlier. A couple other people and I waited around for two more members of our group to arrive and then took the JR Train separately from the rest of our group. The flight from San Francisco to Osaka was just over 11 hours long, and to be honest, was actually pretty comfortable. The only bad part about my day yesterday was the fact that United Airlines managed to leave my luggage in San Francisco. I’m told it should be here today…

View from my window

After navigating (with the much-needed help of a Doshisha student) the Kyoto subway system to get to our keishikan (dorm), we checked in and headed down the street in search of food. Like stereotypical college students, we ended up wandering into a 7-11. I had a noodle dish with pork and vegetables. We all took it back to my friend Debbie’s room where we ate and introduced ourselves to each other.

Anyway, I’ll post more about the keishikan and the program later. I have to run downstairs for orientation and a campus and city tour!

Ja mata,

Brad

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jodi permalink
    May 30, 2011 9:54 am

    So glad you are there safely!! Missed you at your brothers graduation party yesterday, had great crowd and great weather. Mom

Leave a comment